collage 42nd Street Oklahoma 42nd Street Cabaret South Pacific Cabaret 42nd Street Me & My Girl
Click for home page
 
Current Production
Show Information
Cast List
Auditions / Rehearsals
Link to NODA information      Cody Musical Theatre Company
Auditions (23rd April 2017)

26th-30th September 2017

Hairspray

 

Initial Audition & Rehearsal Programme

Date

Time

Who

What

Venue

Tue 11 Apr 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

Sue Sampson (Director) will give an introduction to ‘Made in Dagenham', and will talk through the characters and audition pieces, and you will have the opportunity to sing through the music audition pieces with Paul Tickner (Musical Director)

Velmead Junior School

Thu 13 Apr 17

8:00-9:30pm

All potential auditionees

Music (Principal audition preparation) and setting of the Choreography audition

Velmead Junior School

9:30-10:00pm

Auditionees

Early audition for those unable to attend the main auditions

Tue 18 Apr 17

8:00-10:00pm

All potential auditionees

Music (Principal audition preparation) and setting of the Choreography audition

Velmead Junior School

Thu 20 Apr 17

8:00-10:00pm

All potential auditionees

Music (Principal audition preparation) and setting of the Choreography audition

Velmead Junior School

 

 

Sun 23 Apr 17

2.00-6.00pm

Principals' Auditions
Children will also be auditioned on this Sunday with the adults
Please note that there may be more than one version of the libretto, please only use the version distibuted by Eric or via the clickable links below

Velmead Junior School

1.00pm

All

Dance audition practice

2.00pm

Dance audition, there will be a two level audition, BASIC and ADVANCED - all those auditioning on Sunday will be required to do the dance audition

2.30pm

Rita O'Grady

(Stage age: 35-45) Slightly goofy, working class Mum, Machinist for Dagenham Ford factory, who finds herself (at first) the unwilling leader of a dispute for equal pay for women – goes on a journey of self-discovery. Married to Eddie O' Grady, quite vulnerable.

Lib: Page 110 - into song (Act 2 Sc 9)
Music: No. 18 Bars 9-36

3.00pm

Barbara Castle

(Stage age: 55-60) Minister for Transport, who is then appointed to liaise with the Unionist in the Harold Wilson administration. Torn between the commitment she has to the working classes, working women and the difficulties of balancing the political books. West Yorks/Lancs. accent. Feisty. 

Lib: Page 104 "Sherry anyone…" into song (Act 2 Sc 8)
Music: No. 17 Bars 1-26

3.15pm

Connie

(Stage age: 45+) Union steward and machinist at the Dagenham factory - committed her life to trying to make a difference. Dies from breast cancer.

Lib: Page 86-87 (Act 2 Scene 4)
Music: No. 10 Bars 1-24"

3.30pm

Beryl

(Stage age: 40+) Machinist at the Dagenham factory - loyal to the girls but likes to have a bit of banter with them as well - swears like a trooper.

Lib: Page 11-13 Act 1 Sc 2 to "I've had him"
Music: No. 3 Bars 1-43

4.00pm

Clare

(Stage age: 20+) Machinist at the Dagenham factory, one of the girls. Saving up to get married - quite sweet but rather ditzy, can't get her words out very well, has a stutter.

Lib: Page 11-12 Act 1 Sc 2
Music: No. 5 Bars 1-20

4.30pm

Sandra

(Stage age: 20+) Machinist at the Dagenham factory - one of the girls - likes fashion and would like to be a model, would ideally like to bag a man who could keep her in nice things, and is happy to try a few out whilst trying!

Lib: Page 94/95/96… "You're loving it, ain't ya" (Act 2 scene 5 and 5A)
Music: No. 3 Bars 1-43

4.50pm

Cass

(Stage age: 35) Machinist at the Dagenham factory - one of the girls - ambitious, and the most sensible of the girls wants to be a pilot

Lib: Page 10-12 to "Seven for welts"
Music: No. 3 Bars 1-43

5.10pm

Lisa Hopkins

(Stage age: 25-35) Cambridge graduate married to the Dagenham Ford plant manager. Unhappy in her marriage - wants to work and use her degree but is treated as a trophy wife. Kind hearted and goes against her husband to support Rita. Elegant.

Lib: Page 99/100/101

5.15pm

Sharon

(Stage age: 14-15, can be played by an 18+ year old) Eddie and Rita's daughter

Lib: Page 110 and her lines in Act 1 Sc 1
Music: No.1 Bars 63-79 

5.20pm

Eddie O'Grady

(Stage age: 35-45) Rita's husband and Dagenham Ford factory worker - working class - happy go lucky, gentle and like many men in the 60s confused by the new attitudes of women. He becomes increasingly frustrated by Rita's commitment to the strike, struggling to cope at home.

Lib: Page 110… "I didn't walk out, you did!" and Page 88
Music: (Tenor) No.16 Bars 35-100

5.45pm

Monty

(Stage age: 50-60) Factory worker and Union steward who represents the girls at the Dagenham factory, he wants to support the girls as he knows they are right, but doesn't want to swim against the tide, gets a good deal out of his position. In love with Connie.

Lib: Page 108-109 (Act 2 Sc 9)

5.50pm

Harold Wilson

(Stage age: 50-55) Labour Prime Minister of the time - country seems to always be on strike and held to ransom by the TUC and he is struggling to find the answers. As chauvinistic as the time would suggest and slightly clueless‐ Huddersfield accent.

Lib: Page 103 "Don't stand… Girly bitch about everything"
Music: (Tenor) No.6 Bars 9-34

6.00pm

Mr Tooley

(Stage age: 35-50+) Ford Executive from Texas in the U.S. Doesn't get the British sensitivity at all - expects the British employees of Ford to conform to the American way of running Ford, and doesn't pussy foot around in letting them know that. Boisterous and to the point.

Lib: Page 82-83 (Act 2 Sc 3)
Music: (Tenor) No.13 Bars 1-36

6.05pm

Mr Hopkins

(Stage age: 35-45) Ford Dagenham Manager ‐ university educated - A conformer, wants an easy life and a submissive wife.

Lib: Page 21-22 (Act 1 Sc 3)

6.10pm

Cortina / club singer man

(Stage age: 20+ This role may be split into the two separate characters or combined dependent on Auditions) Singer to promote the new Ford Cortina launch.

Music: (Tenor - Frank Sinatra Crooner style) No.7A all, No. 15 Bars 8-30 

6.20pm

Sid & Bill
Macer & Hubble

 

 

6.20pm

Graham

(Stage age: 11-13, can be played by an 18 year old who looks young!) Rita and Eddie's son, he attends the local grammar school as a scholarship boy, he is being caned by a sadistic teacher.

Lib: Page 110 and his lines in Act 1 Sc 1
Music: No.1 Bars 63-79

Tue 25 Apr 17

8:00-9:30pm

All

There will be a read through of the show starting at 8.00pm, and all cast are asked to attend. Vocal scores and libretti will be available for loan. A deposit of £30 (either cash or cheque) will be required before music scores are issued. Your uncashed cheque or cash will be returned to you at the end of the rehearsal season on safe return of your books

Velmead Junior School

9:30-10:00pm

New members

New members' chorus auditions will take place at approximately 9:30pm after this rehearsal. Please bring along a song of your own choice, with a copy for the pianist

Thu 27 Apr 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

Music

Main Hall

Tue 02 May 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

Music

Main Hall

Thu 04 May 17

8:00-10:00pm

Men only

Music

Main Hall

Tue 09 May 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

Music

Main Hall

Thu 11 May 17

8:00-10:00pm

Principals

Music

Music Room

Dancers

Dancing

Main Hall

Tue 16 May 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

Music

Main Hall

Thu 18 May 17

8:00-10:00pm

Principals

Music

Music Room

Dancers

Dancing

Main Hall

Tue 23 May 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

Music

Main Hall

Thu 25 May 17

8:00-10:00pm

Principals

Music

Music Room

Dancers

Dancing

Main Hall

Tue 30 May 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Thu 01 Jun 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Tue 06 Jun 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Thu 08 Jun 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Tue 13 Jun 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Thu 15 Jun 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Sat 17 Jun 17

 

All + partners & friends

Cody Barn Dance

Cross Barn, Odiham

Tue 20 Jun 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Thu 22 Jun 17

7:30-10:00pm

All members

Annual General Meeting

Main Hall

Tue 27 Jun 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Thu 29 Jun 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Tue 04 Jul 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Thu 06 Jul 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Tue 11 Jul 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Thu 13 Jul 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Tue 18 Jul 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Thu 20 Jul 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Tue 25 Jul 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Thu 27 Jul 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Tue 01 Aug 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Thu 03 Aug 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Tue 08 Aug 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Thu 10 Aug 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Tue 15 Aug 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Thu 17 Aug 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Tue 22 Aug 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Thu 24 Aug 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Tue 29 Aug 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Thu 31 Aug 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Tue 05 Sep 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Thu 07 Sep 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Sun 10 Sep 17

6:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Tue 12 Sep 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Thu 14 Sep 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Sun 17 Sep 17

6:00-10:00pm

All

 

Princes Hall

Tue 19 Sep 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Thu 21 Sep 17

8:00-10:00pm

All

 

Main Hall

Sun 24 Sep 17

 

All

Band Call

Princes Hall

 

Tech Rehearsal

Mon 25 Sep 17

7.30-10.30pm

All

Dress Rehearsal

Princes Hall

Tue 26 Sep 17

7.30-10.30pm

All

Performance

Princes Hall

Wed 27 Sep 17

7.30-10.30pm

All

Performance

Princes Hall

Thu 28 Sep 17

7.30-10.30pm

All

Performance

Princes Hall

Fri 29 Sep 17

7.30-10.30pm

All

Performance

Princes Hall

Sat 30 Sep 17

2.30-5.30pm

All

Matinee Performance

Princes Hall

7.30-10.30pm

Evening Performance

 

(full programme will be available after auditions)

 

General Info

Our next show will be ‘Made in Dagenham’ which will be performed from 26th-30th September 2017 at the Princes Hall Theatre, Aldershot. Rehearsals and auditions will take place at Velmead Junior School, Velmead Road, Fleet, Hampshire, GU52 7LG.

 

A meeting will be held at Velmead Junior School on Tuesday, 11th April 2017 starting at 8pm where the Director (Sue) will talk through the characters and audition pieces. The Musical Director (Paul) will then go through the music audition pieces.

 

On the following Thursdays and Tuesday there will be further meetings held at 8pm where the MD will be working through the songs (including of course the audition songs) and the Choreographer (April) will be setting the dancing audition pieces.

 

The principal auditions will take place from 2pm to 6pm on Sunday, 23rd April 2017 at the above venue. Audition material will be available on the website via links above and at Chorus Line rehearsals and during show week. If anyone cannot make the audition date there will be an opportunity to audition before on 13th April.

 

The libretto/vocal score will be available for loan, but please bring your cheque book to the first rehearsal as a deposit of £30 will be required before they are issued. Your uncashed cheque will be returned to you (or destroyed) at the end of the rehearsal season on safe return of your book. New member chorus auditions will take place at approximately 9:30pm after the first rehearsal on Tuesday 25th April.

 

All rehearsals for the show will be held at Velmead Junior School unless you are advised otherwise. Please note we would ask that if any member of the cast is unable to attend rehearsals, you should notify the Production team by phone as below, or email production@codymusical.co.uk

Gary Oxenham

Director
Sue Sampson
Tel. 07929 419781

Graham Hix

Musical Director
Paul Tickner
Tel. 07932 902276

Graham McCarron-Wright

Choreographer
April Timpson
Tel. 07957 328516

For further details please contact our secretaries:

email

secretary@codymusical.co.uk